Christ Centered Gamer Blog

This blog contains non-gaming related reviews and random ramblings

Adventure Time: Frost & Fire

Thank you Cartoon Network for sending us this DVD to review!

Adventure Time: Frost & Fire is a collection of sixteen episodes from seasons one, three, four, five, and six.  The title episode begins with Finn and the Flame Princess on a date and the Ice King gets in the way. Hilarity ensues when the Ice King and the Flame Princess duke it out.  Not only was this fight entertaining to watch, Finn experienced a pleasant dream that he wanted to experience again.  To make that happen he sends fake letters to both parties and waits for the battle to take place.  While he gets to see them fight again, and experiences a variation of his original dream, Finn regrets his actions and attempts to make things right. 

Other than the title episode some of my favorites include Jake the Brick where Jake wants to experience the collapse of an old beat up shack, by being one of its bricks.  Since being a brick is pretty boring, he entertains himself by narrating the nature around him.  Little does he know that Finn is broadcasting his rambling across Candy Kingdom with the help of a walkie-talkie.

I was pleasantly surprised to find another gender reversing episode  with Fiona and Cake in The Prince Who Wanted Everything.  Lumpy Space Prince takes the lead role in that episode.  Since season five or six have not come out on Blu-Ray or DVD yet, many of these episodes were new to us.  There are some classics thrown in like Memories of Boom Boom Mountain that explain how Finn and Jake met.  

While the list price is under $20, it can be yours for less than twelve dollars on Amazon.   There is close to three hours of entertainment (176 minutes) to be had in this DVD collection.   While this DVD can provide hours of entertainment for people of all ages, make sure you're okay with fart jokes before letting youngsters watch this show.    Despite the juvenile potty humor, there are redeeming qualities and good lessons to be learned from this series. 

Here's the episode list:

  1. Frost & Fire
  2. Earth & Water
  3. Jake the Brick
  4. The Prince Who Wanted Everything
  5. Something Big
  6. Return to the Nightosphere
  7. Daddy's Little Monster
  8. Joshua and Margaret Investigations
  9. Davey
  10. The Pit
  11. Freak City
  12. Memories of Boom Boom Mountain
  13. James
  14. Time Sandwich
  15. Apple Thief
  16. Thanks for the Crabapples, Giuseppe

(Affiliate Link)

Continue reading
  2342 Hits
2342 Hits

My Little Pony Classic TV Collection

Thank you Shout Factory for sending us this DVD set!

I remember collecting and playing with My Little Pony toys as a kid.  I don't recall watching the show much though.  Fortunately with the helpful DVD set My Little Pony Classic TV Collection, I can relive my childhood and be reminded of how animation has vastly improved since the eighties.  :)  The lessons of helping others and treasuring friendship are timeless and my kids enjoyed watching the 4 disc set.

Each disc is approximately 3 hours, so there's twelve hours of entertainment to be had.  My daughters and (surprisingly) my son enjoyed watching the show.  For any person who has seen The Simpsons, they will recognize the voice of Nancy Cartwright who also voiced Bart Simpson.  

The episodes are pretty short, being around eleven minutes each.  Not surprisingly, there are many multi-part episodes so it's important to watch them in their proper order.  There's a wide variety of ponies including earth ponies, pegasus ponies, unicorns, sea ponies and Spike, their dragon friend.  Some episodes feature male ponies!  (I always wondered where the baby ponies came from!)  Megan and her sister Molly are their human friends that tag along for many wild adventures.  

Enemies abound including greedy queens, witches and evil sorcerers.  There is some enchanting and magic used throughout the series.  More often than not, the episodes conclude with the enemies learning to regret their actions after the ponies speak some sense into them.  They then work together towards a peaceful compromise.  The redemption message is powerful and this show has way more ups than downs when it comes to moral issues.

While the retail price is $29.99, Amazon sells it for less than $25.  For twelve hours of entertainment and every classic My Little Pony episode, it's worth every penny!

Affiliate Link

Continue reading
  2346 Hits
Recent Comments
Are you a brony?
Monday, 16 February 2015 17:02
Cheryl Gress
I'm a girl
Monday, 16 February 2015 17:24
Oh, well, have you seen the new My Little Pony TV show? I'm a huge fan of it and it is for all ages and for the whole family. P.S... Read More
Monday, 16 February 2015 19:27
2346 Hits

Like us!


Please consider supporting our efforts.  Since we're a 501 C3 Non-Profit organization, your donations are tax deductible.

Twitter Feed

divinegames Check out the @Humble Explore & Expand Bundle - (CCG LInk)
divinegames Had some fun busting a move in #JustDance2021 check out the stream on @Youtube here -
divinegames Help Christ Centered Gamer every time you shop: #iGiveDoYou


Latest Comments


About Us:

Christ Centered Gamer looks at video games from two view points. We analyze games on a secular level which will break down a game based on its graphics, sound, stability and overall gaming experience. If you’re concerned about the family friendliness of a game, we have a separate moral score which looks at violence, language, sexual content, occult references and other ethical issues.

S5 Box