Reviews
enfrdeitptrues
boxart
Game Info:

Defenders of Ardania
Developed By: Most Wanted Entertainment
Published By: Paradox Interactive
Release Date: March 14th, 2012
Available On: IOS, XBLA, PC
Genre: Tower Defense
Modes: Single, Multiplayer
ESRB Rating: Teen
MSRP: $15

Thank you GamersGate for sending us this game to review!

The Majesty series has been around for a while and known and loved for adding a fun twist to the real time strategy genre.  I enjoyed their RTS games since the units usually don’t obey you unless they are bribed.  While there are some RTS elements in Defenders of Ardania, I didn’t find this game as ground breaking as I was hoping for.  When it comes down to it, it’s a run of the mill Tower Defense game where you have to protect your base from swarms of enemy units and you must set up towers to deflect their attacks.  

Just like the previous Majesty games, you are the ruler and your helpful and witty advisor (who like Sean Connery) is there to brief you on the missions waiting for you. The single player campaign has fifteen missions that will unlock new units, towers and abilities as you complete them.    When you first start out, you’ll have your basic unit types of runners, tanks or hordes.  Later on you can unlock flying and healer units.  

Highlights:

Strong Points: Good graphics and humor.
Weak Points: Game play is just okay; multiplayer servers are non-existent.
Moral Warnings: Violence is a given; some language; sexual references and graphics; undead enemies.

The starting towers include spear throwers and ballistas.  As you progress in the campaign you’ll get flame throwers and crystal towers.  Each tower is designed to take out a particular enemy type.   They will still attack other units, but they won’t be as effective.  The ballistas are good against hordes and the flame throwers counter the runner units.  Flying units can only be taken down by towers meant for them.  

Towards the end of the game, you’ll encounter hero units that will end your game if they make it to your base alive.  You can send your own hero units by accumulating enough experience by consistently using a particular unit.  Crystal towers are your best bet against these tank units.  Resources are limited and you do have a cap on how many towers you can have up at a time.  Fortunately, you can take down towers that are ineffective or no longer needed.  The strategy element in this game comes to play when placing your towers.  There are certain areas where you can build towers and some areas offer advantages such as higher ground for a wider attack radius and so on.  While you cannot completely block access to your base entirely, you can make it a painful and lengthy journey to get there.

Money to hire units and to build and upgrade towers is slowly accumulated by taxing your subjects, but you earn most of it by defeating enemies.  You can erect statues or purchase upgrades to accumulate resources faster.  Other upgrades include the ability to raise your resource ceiling, experience earning rates, party size, and finally, reducing party and tower costs.

Score Breakdown:
Higher is better
(10/10 is perfect)

Game Score - 72%
Gameplay - 14/20
Graphics - 8/10
Sound - 7/10
Stability - 4/5
Controls 3/5

Morality Score - 61%
Violence - 7/10
Language - 7/10
Sexual Content - 4/10
Occult/Supernatural - 4/10
Cultural/Moral/Ethical - 8.5/10

The single player and multiplayer missions range from one to four players.  If you have an ally you’ll have to keep their base protected as well.  When it’s three to one it gets pretty challenging.  I can imagine multiplayer being fun but I didn’t see anyone online to play against.

Even without the multiplayer you’ll get a fair amount of game time.  I spent roughly eight hours and for a $15 title, that’s not too bad.  Even still, I think this is an average game and there’s nothing spectacular about it.  The graphics are decent with the maps being cheerful and colorful and as you get deeper into the story, they get gloomier and depressing.  The music is pleasant to listen to, but not memorable.  I enjoyed the voice acting for the units and the advisor, but the elf leader’s raspy voice got on my nerves a little bit.  

The controls are functional but require memorizing keyboard and mouse buttons instead of having it all on the screen’s user interface.  Managing towers and units is all done by the mouse but to see the tower placement grid, you have to press F1. In order to speed up the game speed you have to press F4 on the keyboard.  I guess I’m spoiled by the 1-4x button from the King Arthur games.

Morally speaking, there are some things worth noting.  Defenders of Ardania earns its Teen rating for swearing (D word), violence and alcohol references.   I was surprised to see a lesbian shower drawing in the ending credits.  I think they meant it to be funny, but it's unnecessary and goes against Biblical teachings.  

The humor for the most part was entertaining but after seeing the credits, I just can't recommend this game with a clean conscience.  From a game play stand point, it's average.  There is a demo available if you want to check it out, but there are better Tower Defense games out there.  I recommend sticking with the far superior RTS Majesty games.

 
Comment (0) Hits: 4773
boxart
Game Info:

Mechanic Infantry
Developed By: Slak Games
Released: July 4, 2011
ESRB Rating: Not Rated
Available On: PC
Genre: 2D Platformer
Number of Players: 1
Price: $2.97 (Desura)

Thank you GamersGate for sending us a review copy of this game!

Mechanic Infantry is a platform game created by Slak Games. It features a universe inhabited by robots who look like televisions (cute). The robots live from a power supply that is run by energy from many different generators. Unfortunately, all of the generators have unexpectedly broken down and it's up to our unnamed hero to fix them.

When you start the game, you will see five different worlds that consist of ten different stages. The object of the game is to avoid getting caught by an evil robot who is trying to stop you from getting to one of the generators. In each stage, you may collect five friendly robots who are trapped in cages to help you unlock the next world. If you get caught or die, you start from the very beginning of the stage.

Highlights:

Strong Points:Enjoyable music, nice artstyle
Weak Points:Controls can occasionally be unresponsive, mixed bag difficulty
Moral Warnings: Main character can die from being electrocuted

The first thing I liked about Mechanic Infantry were the visuals. Even though the game is a 2D sidescroller, the game still looked appealing and I didn't have trouble recognizing anything. Although, I do wish that every single world was more distinct besides having a differently coloured background. The designs of the different robots are fantastic and don't feel recycled. However, the animations are pretty dull and could have been done better.

Considering the objective of the game, I wasn't really upset that the gameplay consisted of nothing more than running and jumping. There are two different things that I am upset about, though. For one, I couldn't double jump using my keyboard. I'm not sure if this was a problem on my end but I was able to do it once I started using a gamepad. Second, the timing for jumping off a wall feels off and I ended up dying many times because of it. Fortunately, I did enjoy the fast paced gameplay and I didn't have too much trouble moving around but the controls sometimes felt unresponsive.

From the way videogames are usually designed, I would have thought that the further you get into the game, the harder it would become. Unfortunately, it felt more like a mixed bag. I would go through the first few stages with no trouble and then I would get hit by a really difficult stage. Once I completed that stage, the game would go back to being easy again. I think timing is very important when it comes to creating a videogame and I think that the game would have been much more enjoyable if the levels were arranged properly; so in my eyes, this is poor game design. When it comes to overall difficulty, the game can be overly challenging and brutal. If you're a fan of a challenge, then this game might be suitable for you.

Score Breakdown:
Higher is better
(10/10 is perfect)

Game Score - 58%
Gameplay - 12/20
Graphics - 5/10
Sound - 8/10
Stability - 2/5
Controls 2/5

Morality Score - 98%
Violence - 9/10
Language - 10/10
Sexual Content - 10/10
Occult/Supernatural - 10/10
Cultural/Moral/Ethical - 10/10

I enjoyed the soundtrack and I was pleased to know that it's given out for free on the Mechanic Infantry website. Even though the music sounded a bit repetitive, it still went along with the scenery. The in-game sound effects are pretty good and felt like they were in the proper place. All-in-all, I don't have much to say when it comes to this aspect of the game except that everything was done properly.

Survival mode is presented along with the campaign. Basically, it drops you into a random level and an evil robot chases after you. The objective of Survival mode is to collect as many caged robots as you can until you get caught by the evil robot. It's pretty much a game of cat-and-mouse and nothing more.

When it comes to morality, this game is clean. The worst you will see is a robot getting electrocuted. There isn't any dialogue so you won't read or hear anything unpleasant.

Overall, Mechanic Infantry is a somewhat enjoyable game that could have been more enjoyable if it was better polished. Length wise, it took me around 3 hours to complete, which is not too bad considering the price of the game. I would like to see a proper sequel sometime in the future.

 
Comment (0) Hits: 3251
boxart
Game Info:

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3
Developed By: Infinity Ward, Sledgehammer Games
Published by: Activision, SquareEnix
Released: November 8th 2011

ESRB Rating: Mature for violence and language
Available On: PC, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii
Genre: FPS
Modes: Single/Multiplayer
Price: $40

The sequel to the critically acclaimed Modern Warfare 2 shattered sales records worldwide, the third consecutive time that the Call of Duty series has achieved this incredible feat. But is it really that great of a game?

Modern Warfare 3 starts off where the second game ended (as the main menu states), with you looking out of the eyes of Soap. Soap (Played by you in this scene) is injured and in critical condition and he is being rushed to a doctor by Captain Price. Then you’re immediately thrown into another character’s shoes, this time a Delta Force soldier named Frost (Delta Force is the equivalent of the British Special Air Service).  Frost is in the middle of a war zone in America. Russians have invaded and everything has gone to the dogs.  As the game progresses you play through numerous characters and the story is told brilliantly by making full use of this.

The game play isn’t very different from previous Call of Duty titles. Controls are standard to most FPS’s.  For instance the mouse is used to aim and “w”, “s”, “a” and “d” are used to walk around. The left mouse button is used for shooting and the right mouse button for aiming down the sights of your gun.  Single player is very cinematic and is emphasized with quick time events where you have to press a key/button quickly in succession or at a certain time to evade something, but these events don’t happen often and are only found in single player missions.

Highlights:

Strong Points: Engrossing story, immersive gameplay and great Multiplayer.
Weak Points: The very complicated LAN system.  Outdated graphics and sound.
Moral Warnings: Violence and death of innocents; swearing.

Yet again there is no health meter which adds a bit of realism to the game (Though this is not unique to the Call of Duty series). Blood spatter is displayed on the screen when your health drops and as it drops the spatter increases.  

In some of the single player missions you will be able to use Spectre gunships as well as UAVs as means of protection (these are also available in multiplayer as perks). Once again in multiplayer you gain experience as you play and kill more enemies and this experience gains you access to new perks and weapons. The multiplayer perks have become more diverse since there are now defensive as well as offensive perks and you have to choose which type of perks you want to use.  The multiplayer also uses a matchmaking system very similar to new games, but I would have preferred dedicated servers, as you have more freedom.  By freedom I mean that you can choose which type of match you want to play down to the weapons that are allowed in the match.  

Spec Ops also makes a return with the addition of survival mode where players face off against waves of enemies – either alone or online with friends.  There are also missions in Spec Ops, each with different objectives and some even add to the storyline of the game.  Two of the missions are only available with two players playing together online or via LAN.

Score Breakdown:
Higher is better
(10/10 is perfect)

Game Score - 88%
Gameplay - 20/20
Graphics - 6/10
Sound - 8/10
Stability - 5/5
Controls 5/5

Morality Score - 56%
Violence - 0/10
Language - 2/10
Sexual Content - 8/10
Occult/Supernatural - 10/10
Cultural/Moral/Ethical - -8/10

Speaking of LAN the game does support it but all the players should be hardwired (not wireless) and have internet access.  Once you're on Steam, launch MW3 and go to multiplayer. Hopefully it will recognize the connection and you will be able to play with your friend.   

The game’s graphics look very old and have not improved much from previous Call of Duty titles like Modern Warfare 2.  Clearly the producer’s aim was not graphics, but instead game play and they have really proven that graphics don’t make or break a game. Also with lower graphics than most new titles Modern Warfare 3 is almost playable on any PC without lag.  

The sound in the game wasn't the best I ever heard but it was great. Standing next to a tank when it fired had the same effect on you as a grenade exploding close by.  I liked the sound but it wasn’t as great a feat as it could have been.  

Modern Warfare 3 has a lot of violence and deserves its ESRB M/Pegi 18 rating – after all it is a war game.  Blood spatters all over the place when you shoot people and believe me, you kill a lot of people.  But on the other hand there is only blood spatter; there aren’t any limbs flying off like they do in Nazi Zombies which makes it considerably less nauseating. 

Foul language is found in the game and the Lord’s name is used in vain occasionally.  Sometimes I didn’t realise there was swearing in the game because there were so many things happening (people shooting at you, gunfire and explosions), that these things blurred out the voices. The only reason I knew they were swearing was because I put the subtitles on so I could see what they were saying.  After playing through the game I didn’t feel as offended with the amount of swearing as I did in other games in the same genre, like Gears of War, but I still felt that the swearing was unnecessary.  

There are some disturbing images in the game but it is optional and doesn’t affect game play if you skip it. It also doesn't add to the story. Like for instance the death of countless innocents.  There is also a mission in spec ops where you see people being executed by Russian extremists and you can choose to save them or not, though if you don’t succeed in saving them it will cost you stars in the end of the mission.

Another thing that I didn’t approve of in the game was the dogs (and hyenas) that you had to kill in self defense.  I love dogs and found it cruel and unnecessary to have to kill animals.  I don’t believe it adds to the experience of the game, but then also killing humans in countless numbers isn’t quite what I would call appealing. 

The moral choices of the characters aren’t always admirable, but do add to the story line and the overall experience. There are some statues in the game that show a bit of nudity but you have to be very observant to notice them.  Also there are emblems provided for players in multiplayer showing girls in bikinis. 

I wouldn’t recommend this game to anyone under the age of 18 and definitely not if you find violence or cruelty offensive or if you don’t like first person shooters.  I would recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the series or anyone who loves first person shooters and hasn’t played the series before.  The game play is spot on and the story line immersive, but unfortunately a bit short. Even though it has a few flaws and the graphics are not brilliant, it is a great game – especially when played multiplayer.

Comment (0) Hits: 5213
boxart
Game Info:

Recettear: An Item Shop’s Tale
Developed By: Easy Game Station
Published By: Carpe Fulgar
Release Date: Sept 10th 2010
Genre: RPG
Available on: PC
ESRB Rating: Not Rated
Mode: Single player
MSRP: $20

Thank you GamersGate for sending us this game to review!

Recette Lemongrass lives by herself since her father has gone adventuring and hasn’t returned since.  The story begins as Recette is greeted by a fairy named Tear who has come to collect on her father’s enormous debt.    Since Recette is unable to pay it, she converts her house to an item shop.  Tear helps her get established and is willing to do five weekly payments that will increase each time.  Failure to make a payment results in the game ending.  The game is won by paying off the debt.

 To get started you must buy some items from either the merchant’s guild or the market.  Once you stock your store, you can open the doors and haggle with customers over the prices you set.  The prices are determined by you at the point of sale.  You don’t have to worry about constantly adjusting prices on your shelves.   I typically did a 30% markup but most of the customers required the price to be lower.  If your price is too high, they will storm out of your store.

Highlights:

Strong Points: Unique characters and original game concept.
Weak Points: Separate executable needed to configure screen resolution and controls; English voice acting would have been nice.
Moral Warnings: Cartoon style fighting; there is no blood or gore.

For each successful transaction, you will gain experience towards raising your merchant level.  As your merchant level rises you’ll unlock new abilities like taking advance orders and redecorating your store.  Your store starts off plain but you can redecorate it to be gaudy or have a light or a dark feel to it.  Your store's look will attract unique customers who will get to know you and fight in dungeons for you.

The best way to stock up your store is to gather loot from dungeons.  Unfortunately, dungeon crawling is time consuming and eats up at least half of your day needed to sell to customers.  To go into a dungeon you must hire and ideally equip a hero with better weapons and armor to give them an edge in battle.  You don't want to pack too many items since your inventory space is limited.  As your merchant level increases, so does your inventory capacity.

The dungeon levels are randomly generated and the level map is revealed as you explore each floor.  The typical dungeon has five floors with a boss at the fifth floor.  After the boss is defeated you have the option of exiting the dungeon or pressing onward.  In other words, you can only exit every fifth level.  Fortunately, your progress is saved and you don't have to start from the first floor every time.

Score Breakdown:
Higher is better
(10/10 is perfect)

Game Score - 74%
Gameplay - 16/20
Graphics - 7/10
Sound - 6/10
Stability - 5/5
Controls 3/5

Morality Score - 87%
Violence - 6.5/10
Language - 8/10
Sexual Content - 10/10
Occult/Supernatural - 8.5/10
Cultural/Moral/Ethical - 10/10

The enemies and bosses get harder as you progress through the dungeons.  At first you'll be fighting simple slimes.  There's plenty of variety and some of the enemies will have vulnerabilities that you'll have to take advantage of to defeat them.  For example, there is a knight that you cannot attack head on since they have a shield.  In order to do damage, you'll have to attack them from the side or behind.

I was happy to see that the violence is cartoon like and not bloody or gory in nature.  When you defeat an enemy, jewels pour out instead of blood.  Appropriateness wise there isn't much to complain about, just some very minor language and name calling.  I had no problem playing this in front of my kids and they  often flocked to my computer when I was playing it.  I think the colorful anime style artwork drew them in.

My only complaint with the artwork is that there isn't enough variety with the customers since there is only a handful of sprites used to represent them.  I do like how their facial expressions reflect their opinion of your prices.  To run the game in full screen mode you have to launch a separate customization executable to enable that feature. I decided against it since it does not support wide screen modes without getting distorted. 

If you're a fan of anime, chances are you'll appreciate the artwork and Japanese voice acting.  I was able to understand a couple of the words but I relied on the English subtitles to understand what was going on.  The English translation was pretty good for the most part.  I think this game would have been more polished if it had English voice acting.

Besides being a little rough around the edges, I enjoyed playing Recettear.  After the debt is paid off, some new modes are unlocked.  You can play in endless mode where you no longer have to worry about debt; this is ideal for dungeon exploring.  On the other hand, there is survival mode where the debt keeps getting higher and higher until you can no longer keep up.  Lastly, there is Game Mode + which is a little more challenging than the fist time around.  The MSRP is $20 but I have seen it on sale on Steam and GamersGate.  This is a good title to add to your wish list or watch list.

Comment (0) Hits: 4639
boxart
Game Info:

Adam’s Venture 3: Revelations
Developed by: Vertigo Games
Published By: Iceberg Interactive
Release Date: March 9th, 2012
Genre: Adventure/Puzzle
Mode: Single-Player
Available on: PC
Pegi Rating: 7
MSRP: $9.99

Thank you Iceberg Interactive for sending us this game to review!

Adam’s Venture 3 picks up where their previous episode left off.  If you're not familiar with the Adam's Venture series, think of it as an Indiana Jones game with Biblical overtones.  Adam and his partner Evelyn were exploring the newly discovered ruins of Solomon’s temple when it collapsed on them.  Adam got knocked on the head pretty good and is going in and out of consciousnesses. This game begins in Adam’s memories of his father and how he first met Evelyn.  

After a series of flashbacks, this episode goes back to the present where Adam must rescue his father and Evelyn from an evil warlord who wants to blow up Solomon's temple.  By destroying Solomon's temple he wishes to cause an uproar in the middle east, for the sole purpose of becoming rich by selling weapons to both sides.  

Highlights:

Strong Points: Stunning graphics powered by the Unreal engine.
Weak Points: Only a couple of hours of gameplay.
Moral Warnings: Non-deadly violence.

I like how this episode introduces Adam’s father and gives some insight on their relationship.  It was also nice to see how Adam got acquainted with Evelyn.  (Their squabbles are always fun to listen to.)  If you’re looking to be told a story, you might be disappointed, since the majority of the game revolves around solving puzzles.  

There are twenty five riddles ranging from mazes, disarming explosives, and repairing cars and windmills.  You’ll be spinning letter wheels in opposing directions to spell out words, crossing wires, and tripping fuses.  The puzzles vary in difficulty, and if you get stuck, there are user created walkthroughs available online. 

If you mess up you can easily reload from the last checkpoint.  Unfortunately, you cannot save whenever you like, but there are a lot of save points.  The controls are not customizable either.  The controls consist of using the arrow keys for movement, the space bar to jump, and the ctrl key to crouch.  There are caves to crawl into, ladders to climb, and plenty of ropes and bridges to cross. 

Score Breakdown:
Higher is better
(10/10 is perfect)

Game Score - 70%
Gameplay - 11/20
Graphics - 8/10
Sound - 8/10
Stability - 4/5
Controls 4/5

Morality Score - 92%
Violence - 7.5/10
Language - 10/10
Sexual Content - 8.5/10
Occult/Supernatural - 10/10
Cultural/Moral/Ethical - -10/10

The environments are nicely detailed and range from tombs and caves to the rooftops in the French town of Luz.  The shadows, smoke, fire, and rain look believable and the sound effects add to the realism.  In the few moments where you control Adam, the game will be in a third person perspective.  The puzzles are done in first person.  I enjoyed the dialogue and voice acting.  The background music composed by Jonathan van den Wijngaarde set the mood nicely and was pleasant to listen to.  

While there was some confrontation and threats being made, no violent scenes come to mind.  I typically dock games for having females wearing tight clothing, but I might subtract a little for Adam’s pants.  You have no camera control whatsoever in this game, and you are forced to look at Adam’s atomic wedgie as he’s crawling through air ducts and caves.  Other than that, I’d say this game is family friendly, though I don’t think kids will enjoy the complex puzzles.

If you’ve played the first two Adam’s Venture games I would recommend this game to fill in some gaps in the story.  The only drawback is that you’ll only get a couple of hours of gameplay with little replay value.  Everything is scripted and you have limited freedom or opportunities to explore.  On the other hand, if you love puzzles, this game will be right up your alley.  

Comment (2) Hits: 5200

Like us!

Donate

Please consider supporting our efforts.  Since we're a 501 C3 Non-Profit organization, your donations are tax deductible.

Twitter Feed

divinegames Be sure to grab Civilization III Complete for free at @humble - https://t.co/eLzltqDG6n (CCG Link)
2hreplyretweetfavorite
divinegames @Battybuddy Google, Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter
10hreplyretweetfavorite
divinegames Looks like @4chan still appreciates our reviews - https://t.co/J6boa83wDd (language warning)
12hreplyretweetfavorite
divinegames Check out the @humble Mobile HeroCraft Bundle https://t.co/Ru6Pxqlh3s (CCG Link) King of Dragon Pass, Warhammer 40,000, Majesty and more
12hreplyretweetfavorite
divinegames Created a @rallyup fundraising page. Check it out! https://t.co/G1py1Vm4z6
12hreplyretweetfavorite

Latest Comments

Latest Downloads

About Us:

Christ Centered Gamer looks at video games from two view points. We analyze games on a secular level which will break down a game based on its graphics, sound, stability and overall gaming experience. If you’re concerned about the family friendliness of a game, we have a separate moral score which looks at violence, language, sexual content, occult references and other ethical issues.

S5 Box

JFusion Login Module

Register