Magic the Gathering

For any and all pen and paper RPG discussions and games.
Forum rules

1) This is a Christian site, respect our beliefs and we will respect yours.

2) This is a family friendly site, no swearing or posting offensive links, pictures, or signatures.

3) Please be respectful of others.

4) Trolls are not welcome and will be dealt with accordingly.

5) No racial comments, jokes or images

6) If you see a dead thread over 6 months old, let it rest in peace

7) No Duplicate posts
TheCreeper
Noob
Noob
Are you human?: Yes!
So I just started playing this game and got a 2014 event deck and I got some other cards from booster packs which makes up my deck right now. The person I play the most plays the blue and white event deck where I play the red and green event deck with some additions. I have rebuilt my deck to counter his deck, in my opinion, almost perfectly, but is this a bad thing when I go to play other decks? Also are there any cards that are a must have if I want to focus on a red and green deck? Another thing that I'd like to ask is: I kind of want to go for a red and black or green and black deck. Is this a bad move or a good idea?
ArcticFox
CCGR addict
Red and black work well together, green and black don't. (Generally speaking.)
"He who takes offense when no offense is intended is a fool, and he who takes offense when offense is intended is a greater fool."
—Brigham Young

"Don't take refuge in the false security of consensus."
—Christopher Hitchens
Sstavix
CCGR addict
There was one card series that focused on conflicting colors (the Invasion cycle, if I recall correctly). But if you're looking to play tournaments, that may not be an option.